Governor declares state of disaster for Aransas, San Patricio and Nueces Counties

Posted at 3:41 PM, Jun 21, 2018
and last updated 2018-06-21 16:41:26-04

The heavy rains the last few days has left some South Texas Counties with lots of property and road damages not even a year after Hurricane Harvey made landfall.

Today, Governor Abbott declared a state of disaster for the following counties: Aransas, Cameron, Hidalgo, Nueces, San Patricio and Willacy counties.

His declaration notes that the severe weather and flooding event that began on June 19, 2018, and that continues, has caused widespread and severe property damage, and threatens loss of life.  This means that the State will provide any available resource needed to those counties to cope with disaster.

Read the Governor’s full State Disaster Declaration.