CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas — Many new Texas laws are now in full effect.
One of those new laws involves increasing fines for drivers.
It is Labor Day that means a lot of drivers were out on the roads traveling and state troopers kept a watchful eye.
Texas Department of Public Safety officers were out in full force patrolling the highways making sure drivers were following the speed limit and more.
HB 2048 which repeals the driver responsibility program which will allow thousands of Texans who have had their licenses suspended to have them reinstated.
That comes with a price.
State fines along with intoxicated driver violations have gone up.
“So you're looking at higher fines save yourself some money get a designated driver pay the small amount of money that is going to cost to use a taxi, Uber, Lyft, everything out there available to you,” says Texas DPS Trooper Sgt. Nathan Brandley.
State traffic fines were at $30 but now that number has gone up to $50.
DWI fines are now $3,000 for the first conviction within 36 months.
$4,500 for the following conviction and now $6,000 with the person's alcohol concentration level at twice the legal limit.
State Troopers say drivers need to be smart behind the wheel.
Troopers are also asking the public to be proactive in looking for people who are speeding and who are also driving under the influence.